Minneapolis DWI Lawyer / Minnesota DUI Attorney
If you’ve been charged with DWI in Minnesota Steve Coon will fight the criminal charges, license revocation, plate impoundment, and motor vehicle forfeiture. He can help get you back on the road as soon as possible.
Can a DWI lawyer help you? Yes!
Minnesota DWI laws are strict, but an experienced DWI lawyer can navigate a complex and confusing system. Minnesota’s DWI laws are some of the most complex.
If you have any DWI related concerns, contact us today to discuss your situation in detail.
Degrees of DWI
There are four degrees of DWI, fourth through first. Fourth is the least serious, and first is the most serious. We have written detailed articles on each degree of DWI.
Description of the penalties for each degree:
1st Degree DWI Charges
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.24 classifies first degree DWI as a felony.
2nd Degree DWI Charges
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.25 classifies second degree DWI as a gross misdemeanor.
3rd Degree DWI Charges
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.26 classifies third degree DWI as a gross misdemeanor
4th Degree DWI Charges
- Minnesota Statute Section 169A.27 classifies fourth degree DWI as a misdemeanor.
Minnesota DWI and Aggravating Factors
Minnesota’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is .08. It is also a crime to consume any amount of alcohol that impairs your ability to operate a motor vehicle regardless of the concentration in your blood.
Aslo, any amount of a schedule I or II controlled substance in your blood or urine is considered driving while impaired.
Aggravating factors include:
- Having a minor present
- Prior convictions
- Losses of license within the preceding 10 years
- Having an alcohol concentration of .16 or more
- Refusing the breath test is also a more serious crime
There are two common scenarios that lead to felony DWI charges. The first scenario is when a person is arrested for DWI after three or more convictions or DWI related losses of license within the last 10 years.
The second scenario is when a person has a felony level alcohol related driving conviction in their lifetime.
Loss of Minnesota License
Immediately upon arrest for DWI, law enforcement will issue the driver a notice of license revocation. Once received, the person has sixty days to file a petition in court to challenge the officer’s unilateral decision to take their license away.
If the person misses the deadline, he or she will lose their license and will always have an alcohol related loss of license on their record even if the criminal charges are completely dismissed.
Help with the Loss of your License
It is important to know that there are numerous challenges that can be made, and if successful, will result in reversal of the administrative license revocation.
Call Steve Coon to discuss your Minnesota DWI case today. He will explain the DWI laws and process in more detail during your initial consultation.
Highly Recommend Steven Coon
On this repeat offense of mine they took my vehicle away and was lost on how to get it back. Everybody else quoted a way higher price than he charged. Steven responded to my emails always in a timely manner. I was able to drop off my documentation first the forfeiture notice to his secretary.(conveniently located office downtown Minneapolis) And he got me vehicle buyback for a reasonably low price. He does good work and is truly giving back where most lawyers think of the job as a way to get rich off of desperate situations. Highly recommend.
What Happens After Your DWI Arrest in Minnesota?
If you are arrested for a DWI, you may face serious penalties that include fines, a driver’s’ license revocation, license plate impoundment, vehicle forfeiture and the possibility for jail time.
You may be able to fight your DWI charge to avoid these penalties. Therefore, it is important to know what happens after a DWI, and what will be required of you.
When Do You Need a Lawyer for a DUI/DWI Charge?
Deciding whether to retain an attorney, go with the public defender, or represent yourself in a DUI case.
Driving under the influence is considered a crime in every state. So, DUI charges are handled in criminal court. You have a right to represent yourself in criminal court. But most defendants either hire a private lawyer or are represented by a public defender appointed by the court.